Hopfully, Howdy

Some people love beer for the community; the friends we make in pubs, home brew clubs, and on social media all over the world.

Others love beer purely for the liquid itself, savouring each drop of delicious amber nectar.

Me? Sure, I love the community and the flavour. But there’s also a far simpler motivation behind my obsession. I love the labels.

Every can’s a canvas

I’m not alone in thinking what’s on the outside that counts. Hopfully is a brewery based in Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. As well as producing delicious beers, they use their can labels to help showcase the best emerging artists and illustrators. And it’s that eye-catching, striking, and ultimately very silly artwork that persuaded me to pick up Howdy.

Let me be clear: I love this can. This particular cowgirl (cowboy? Cowperson is more inclusive but conjures minotaur imagery) was designed by London illustrator Gabriel Hollington, whose work also graces the New Yorker website and a line of accessories from Vans.

You had me at “howdy”

Once poured, Howdy is a pale yellow not far off from the can’s background, very hazy with a thin, white head.

On the nose I pick up tangerine and powdered sugar sweetness at first. More complexity emerges as the beer warms up from fridge temp: in particular, passion fruit.

There’s more of that light, citrussy sweetness on the palate balancing a gentle, fluffy effervescence.

On the finish, some greener, danker notes emerge, as well as a dry sensation that has me reaching for another sip.

At 6.5% ABV, this isn’t a beer I could drink steadily all night, and it’s perhaps a little light and gentle for these long, cold February nights. But sipping this on a roof terrace in the late spring would be perfection. It’s certainly encouraged me to seek out more of Hopfully’s beers – if only to check out the can art.

How do they do it?

Strata, Citra and Comet for those sweet, citrussy flavours; extra pale Maris Otter for a super light and fresh malt base, along with oats, wheat, and dextrin for a fluffier, thicker texture. Sadly, that means Howdy isn’t suitable for anyone who can’t stomach gluten.

Howdy is unfined, and thus vegan-friendly.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close